Primary Level Educational version

All flavors welcome.
Forum rules
Be kind.
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

Sorted out the CANCEL button so it actually does what it should . . . 8-)
-
Screenshot 2023-12-20 at 12.53.46.png
Screenshot 2023-12-20 at 12.53.46.png (163.1 KiB) Viewed 2087 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

Now generates a new stack where it should:
-
Screenshot 2023-12-20 at 20.44.14.png
Screenshot 2023-12-20 at 20.44.14.png (152.69 KiB) Viewed 2080 times
Attachments
newTools.livecode.zip
Stack.
(233.36 KiB) Downloaded 132 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

Frankly that "STACK" button was 'not much cop', so went for a new palette:
-
SShot 2023-12-22 at 14.51.59.png
SShot 2023-12-22 at 14.51.59.png (283.02 KiB) Viewed 2046 times
Attachments
newTools.livecode.zip
Stack.
(312.43 KiB) Downloaded 119 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
OpenXTalkPaul
Posts: 1574
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2021 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by OpenXTalkPaul »

I'm a sucker for brushed metal.

My Object/Resource extractor thing I'm working on might be helpful for working on IDE stacks like this.

I'm going to upload what I've got so far on that in a bit.
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

It doesn't have to be brushed metal as far as I am concerned.

But I do feel a textured background is better in terms of making the 'handles' stand out, and stopping your eyes going funny with a solid colour.

My experience with about 100 programs for content development and reinforcement through 2 universities and my language school (using HyperCard, ToolBook, Metacard, and RR/LC) is 10-20% of the time on programming, and the rest on 'Look and Feel'. Something that is, in my opinion, overlooked in a large number of cases.
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

So: some incremental improvements with the stack creation palette:
-
Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 13.01.09.png
Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 13.01.09.png (277.97 KiB) Viewed 2011 times
-
Also takes into account if the user has not given the stack a name:
-
Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 13.01.37.png
Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 13.01.37.png (129.7 KiB) Viewed 2008 times
Attachments
newTools.livecode.zip
Stack.
(312.62 KiB) Downloaded 121 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

Why not have a bit more fun? . . .
-
Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 13.59.17.png
Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 13.59.17.png (299.13 KiB) Viewed 2005 times
-
Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 13.59.40.png
Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 13.59.40.png (158.37 KiB) Viewed 2004 times
Attachments
newTools.livecode.zip
Stack.
(313.33 KiB) Downloaded 120 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

Proper default settings for Stack palette & improved affordances on colour buttons:
-
Screenshot 2023-12-24 at 11.53.08.png
Screenshot 2023-12-24 at 11.53.08.png (284.14 KiB) Viewed 1991 times
-
Screenshot 2023-12-24 at 11.52.44.png
Screenshot 2023-12-24 at 11.52.44.png (130.29 KiB) Viewed 1990 times
-
Default stack is now white and 300 x 300 pixels.
Attachments
newTools.livecode.zip
Stack.
(313.32 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

I am a bit stuck:

My newTools stack contains a button with this script:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   answer file "Select image:"
   if the result is not cancel then
      set the lockscreen to true
      put the short name of the topStack into STAKK
      import paint from file it to stack STAKK
      set the name of the last control to "XYZ"
   end if
end mouseUp
What ACTUALLY happens with this script is that my imported image ends up in the newTools stack, and NOT my target stack.
-
Screenshot 2024-01-17 at 13.48.07.png
Screenshot 2024-01-17 at 13.48.07.png (755.66 KiB) Viewed 1477 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
tperry2x
Posts: 1538
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2021 9:10 pm
Location: Britain (Previously known as Great Britain)
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by tperry2x »

Is your target stack specified in a variable somewhere?
Otherwise, it's probably doing what it thinks is correct - the topstack is probably the newTools stack.
Perhaps if you can store the name of the new stack in a global variable, then use that in the target stack to import the image into.
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

That doesn't seem to make sense if the button containing the script is on a palette.
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

The redoubtable Bernd Niggeman in the LC Forums provided the help I needed:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   put the topStack into STAKK
   if (the short name of this stack) is STAKK or STAKK is empty then
      answer "activate the target stack first" with "Ok"
      exit mouseUp
   end if
   answer file "Select image:"
   if the result is not cancel then
      set the lockscreen to true
      set the defaultStack to STAKK
      import paint from file it 
      set the name of the last control to "XYZ"
   end if
end mouseUp
-
Screenshot 2024-01-17 at 18.28.18.png
Screenshot 2024-01-17 at 18.28.18.png (382.68 KiB) Viewed 1394 times
Attachments
newTools.livecode.zip
Stack.
(313.82 KiB) Downloaded 87 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
tperry2x
Posts: 1538
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2021 9:10 pm
Location: Britain (Previously known as Great Britain)
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by tperry2x »

I guess that works, but it's a bit of a pain to be told to activate the target stack first. Surely it should just put it on the user's stack without prompting.

Judging by the window controls on the main stack (as they are greyed out), the main stack window is in the background, so is not the front stack.

You could just avoid all that with a variable that sets the default stack to whatever the main stack is called when it gets created.

Anyway, glad you are happy.
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

Anyway, glad you are happy.
I wouldn't put things as simplistically as that.

This interface is very much a work in progress (3 steps forward, 2 steps back). After all, that button should NOT import an image: it should throw up a "image Import" palette with all sorts of options.

Such as:

SIZE

POSITIONING
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

ALSO: every button on every palette should check whether "Sunny Jim" has made a stack on which to place buttons, fields, pictures, graphics, and so forth: otherwise things could get seriously screwed up.
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
tperry2x
Posts: 1538
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2021 9:10 pm
Location: Britain (Previously known as Great Britain)
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by tperry2x »

richmond62 wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 5:30 pm ALSO: every button on every palette should check whether "Sunny Jim" has made a stack on which to place buttons, fields, pictures, graphics, and so forth: otherwise things could get seriously screwed up.
That's kind of what my idea would have done (probably rough sudo-code):

Code: Select all

global rSunnyJimsTargetStack

on mouseup
if not (there is a stack rSunnyJimsTargetStack) or rSunnyJimsTargetStack is empty then
-- no stack has been created
else
-- we now know the target stack for everything
create button "new button " & the seconds in stack rSunnyJimsTargetStack
end if
end mouseup
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

ALL that should be necessary, as ALL the palettes in my newTools are palettes, is for each command to pick up the name of the topStack (after all, Sunny Jim could be farting around with 3 stacks) . . . so, no globals needed.
-
glow_balls.jpg
glow_balls.jpg (7.48 KiB) Viewed 1366 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
tperry2x
Posts: 1538
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2021 9:10 pm
Location: Britain (Previously known as Great Britain)
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by tperry2x »

richmond62 wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 5:53 pm Sunny Jim could be farting around with 3 stacks

Code: Select all

global rSunnyJimsTargetStack
on resumestack
put the name of this stack into rSunnyJimsTargetStack
end resumestack
easy?
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

Easy, indeed: and one of several ways of doing things. 8-)
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
User avatar
richmond62
Posts: 2776
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2021 11:03 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Primary Level Educational version

Post by richmond62 »

And with this picture you should ken what I'm speiran for:
-
Screenshot 2024-01-17 at 22.43.32.png
Screenshot 2024-01-17 at 22.43.32.png (225.81 KiB) Viewed 1327 times
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests