How to use GitHub OR NOT to contribute

Organizing tasks to work on, New Features Ideas, Building LCS & LCB Libraries & Widgets, Redecorating and Modifying the IDE, Hacking / Editing Tools, Compiling the Engine from Source, etc.
OpenXTalkPaul

How to use GitHub OR NOT to contribute

Post by OpenXTalkPaul »

I think a lot of people in this community don't really have much experience with GitHub if at all
I think this was actually a BIG problem for LC in getting users to contribute.
I never used GitHub before trying to contribute to LCC OS, so I'm not expert, I'm still learning to use it.
I don't use it the way the C++ lords do, I use it entirely through GUI via GitHub Desktop and GitHub web interface.
I think this would actually be a very good topic for public discussion ( and one that LC should have had IMO) an so I've created this thread to discuss using GitHub (OR NOT), and/or mentor people in doing that (OR NOT). I'd like to be much more loose about contributing if possible. People shouldn't have to have their own forks in GitHub to contribute IMO, unless they want to. Personally I've grown to like using it.

For one thing, instead of doing a pull request, you can make comments on files in the GitHub repo here (post a URL Link) and then I or someone else can make changes based on those comments on GitHub for you. If you make a comment on a file in GitHub I believe it automatically creates a branch in your own GitHub account. But you can delete that branch once the changes are incorporated into the main branch.

I know it can be confusing, it still is for me.

I highly recommend using GitHub's Desktop app, no command-line stuff required!
https://desktop.github.com
boley

Re: How to use GitHub OR NOT to contribute

Post by boley »