Richmond's Guff

All sorts of amusements and nonsense unrelated to xTalk
richmond62

Richmond's Guff

Post by richmond62 »

https://helloworld.raspberrypi.org/issues/17

page 53

This is, largely, a distillation of what I have been banging on about since 2001.
https://richmondmathewson.owlstown.net/
OpenXTalkPaul

Re: Richmond's Guff

Post by OpenXTalkPaul »

I love that underused word guff.

Read the article, short and to the point. Nice.

The only thing I'd argue with there is the "direct decendent", it's more an illegitimate child's grandson, but why argue over that when it's pretty much the last living relative.
richmond62

Post by richmond62 »

an illegitimate child's grandson
I think you may be looking for the bast*rd in the wrong place.

Please also remember that that article is pitched at English Primary school teachers who are not always the brainiest
sandwiches in the mixed metaphor and have been spoon-fed the crap that everything must be dumbed down to the
point of near inanation and always, bloody always, must be "fun".

Over the last 5 years I have had to cope with 3 children who have returned to Bulgaria with their Bulgarian
parents having been born in England and been to English Primary schools:

Spelling doesn't matter.
Punctuation doesn't matter.

Or, as one child said, "Our teacher weren't bothered, we just had to tell our stories."

"bothered' was pronounced 'bovvered' . . . strewth!

I am a raving snob about English grammar and spelling in my ESL classroom at least,
and unlike some people who want to let anything go, I see nothing that wrong with that snobbery.
I also believe that inculcating the idea that everything must be 'fun' is, ultimately, both educational
and socially destructive. Learning can be fun, but a lot isn't, and
normally learning is fun as a by-product, not as the central focus of what has to be taught.

Having had a reply from the editor of 'Hello World' thanking me for my article this is how I replied: